Not open for further replies.

Noirvault

Country
US
State
tx
City
Irving
I wish I were new then my body would be too, but that's not the case. I'm just new HERE. Everywhere else I'm a decrepit old fool.
Anyway..for the past few years I have been losing strength by the bucket loads. About 3 years ago I was hauling scrap metal for a living jumping in dumpsters or what have you and loading my pickup truck with every available scrap of metal I could find then unloading and selling it all at the local scrap yard and I was good at it. I could lift a stove over my head and lift most refrigerators without help, but now carrying a gallon of milk from the car to the house has become a real challenge for me.
I no longer have a use for a pickup truck nor for the many tools I once used to take things apart to separate various metals. The closet I have to a use for tools now is my cigarette lighter because i still smoke like a fiend, but other than that they just collect dust and rust.
At first doctors pretty much ignored my complaints of losing strength until I was forced to use a cane to walk and I still am using it, but moving now is slow, painful and tedious at best. About the furthest I can walk now is to the car and back, about 150 feet there and back and each trip takes me about 15-20 minutes and if I could get a wheel chair through that path I surely would. The reason i don't is because it's full of roots and rocks and assorted junk not to mention it's like a maze of fences pushing anything through it. Also I barely have the strength to lift a wheel chair anymore so loading and unloading one in and out of a car would be nearly impossible for me.
I haven't been diagnosed with anything as of yet, but have had several diseases ruled out such as MS and other things. My doc thinks it might be ALS, but we still don't know so now I'll get to why I think it might be and why it's still undiagnosed.