Diagnosis
07/2009
Country
US
State
VA
City
Richmond
Firstly, the good news: after 4 months of being stuck in bed all day, the ALS Foundation is sending a loaner powerchair. I am thrilled!

The thing is this. A lot of my progression all came on at once. So I have swallowing troubles, but I have not even eaten outside my home once yet, since it set in after I couldn't use my manual chair anymore. I realize with what has happened, this is going to be the start of a whole new lifestyle. Becoming a manual wheelchair user and a diabetic was too, and ultimately after a lot of learning those things came to feel normal. The complication is that it looks like the PWC is going to get here in time for me to go to a weekend event I am helping to run. If it does and I go, it will be a 3 day crash course on a few different levels.

So I come to you for advice. I will be stuck on a college campus that is pretty accessible for up to 13 hours at a time. I will have a new powerchair I am still learning to use. Are there particular tools or helpful items in case of trouble? How do you pack stuff on a powerchair, is there a place to clip on a bag?

I am on a level 3 dysphagia diet, and a diabetic. What kind of things would you pack to eat? At home, it is homemade smoothies and moist ground meats and things like that. Is there a particular kind of eatery that tends to have easy to eat options? The campus is very large with a huge variety. We also have a staff snack budget, and they are willing to stock anything for me that doesn't need refrigeration. Does anyone have any suggestions? Is there anything else I should be stocking for long days out?

I am sorry to have so many questions, but this makes me feel like a newly disabled person all over again.

Am I crazy to even plan to go to something like this just days after getting a powerchair?

Last edited by a moderator: