Other
Country
US
State
Ohio
City
Toledo
Hey all,
I just want to start off by saying I am not here to troll or waste anyone's time. I have a great deal of respect for the people in this forum and I hope everyone with ALS or know someone with ALS one day can finally beat this disease. I am currently a medical student, and realize that hypochondria is also very real and something I could suffer from. I'm not here pleading for someone to diagnose me, I just want to gain more knowledge from people that have had up close experience with it and overcome my own fear (possibly displaced) that I have this.

I had twitching in my left middle finger start about two months ago, and I feel it mostly at the base of it right in front of my knuckle. Since then, I've had sporadic twitching across my body, recently more frequently in my right big toe (moreso when I'm resting). I've also had pain sensations around both my wrists since then, more times laterally, but they reside within a couple minutes (it feels stiff as well, but movement wise when I test it there's no loss of anything from what I can tell). These pain sensations also occur in my fingers that twitch occasionally. From time to time I also have this feeling like either of my hands/fingers are cramping for a couple seconds when I'm using my hands for some type of activity. I don't really know if this is just something in my head, as in these types of pains and aches happened before these two months and I just didn't pay as much attention to it as I do now. If anyone in this forum can help me out, tell me if they'd seen these symptoms in relation to ALS, or if I really need to just stop worrying, that would be greatly appreciated. I don't know what the statistics are for males in 20s to get this disease, I haven't been able to find anything. Thank you all in advance for all your help, even if I'm not a PALS you guys are still tremendously helping me and I'm sure a lot of other lurkers in this forum can say the same.