Learn about ALS
Country
USS
State
CA
City
Carson
Hi everyone,

I'm a medical student and working on my clinical rotations before graduation next year and I am working with my first ALS patient and wanted to get some advice on speech generating devices that might be helpful for him.

He is a 32 year old male, married and has a 2 year old daughter. He is ambulatory at the present time for short distances and uses a walker. He is able to perform functional tasks with is arms, such as eating or typing; but he fatigues easily due to muscle weakness. He is slightly dysarthric and is very worried that he will not be able to communicate in the future. His wife is able to understand him approximately 50% of the time. He really wants to maintain the ability to communicate now and increase the percentage of time he is understood for now.

Any help is greatly appreciated! I see him on Monday so would like to get some ideas before then if possible! Thanks so much!

OT,
Kudos for reaching out. When you do this kind of eval, questions you may want to answer before considering apps are:

What kind of desktop, laptop, smartphone, tablet(s) does he have/want to use (what are the use cases you are looking to address? what environments?) What has the rate of progression of limb deficit been? Is this bulbar, respiratory or limb onset?

FYI, "slightly dysarthric" and "wife can only understand him 50% of the time" don't match up. He's entered the moderate and progressive zone.

Since he is ambulatory and has arm/hand use, it would be premature to think about eye gaze. Therefore, "devices" is really a misnomer in your question. He can still progress from adapted computing/mobile platform with apps now to alternative/head mice/mouthsticks to switch/virtual keyboard use to eye gaze, if he gets that far. Of course, some PALS skip some of those steps. This is a very individualized endeavor, as you know.