PALS
Country
CA
State
BC
City
Vancouver
Hi

my name is Joy and I'm a design student at Emily Carr Institute. I'm working on a school project to design brochures, imagery etc in order to illustrate what ALS is and engage people more in terms of an awareness of the disease. I have researched and gotten some basic, technical information on ALS, but I want to get more understanding of it in terms of what its like to actually have it - that is, what ALS is on a sensorial level, physically / emotionally, etc. Our class had read Tuesdays with Morrie and it did give some description from the point of view of Morrie - he said that his body was wax melting away - but it didn't go into that much detail and its still pretty hard for me to imagine what its like just from reading that bit.

I'd greatly appreciate it if any of you can give me some idea of what ALS is like - or if you already know of a board or certain threads in which this is talked about, please point me to it.. Thank you!

Hi Joy. If you just go to the general discussion forum and start back through the pages I'm sure you will find some of what you are looking for. There are more than 1100 threads or topics. If you have any specific questions we may be able to answer them. I'm not familiar with your school, could you tell me what city it's in?
AL.

Last edited:
my school is in Vancouver, BC, Canada.

this is the organization we're working for -- you can see a blurb on their site and mentions Emily Carr. (if you view their page in Safari you'll have to scroll down because for some reason there is a huge blank space on the main page when you view it in that browser...)

I thought of going through the threads, but I thought that the info here might've been geared more towards practical, specific issues. Nevertheless, I will look into these thread more.

Last edited by a moderator:
Joy,

I will try to help a little.