Anna K

Reason
Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
UK
Hi!

My name is Anna Kennedy I am a Product Design Engineering student at the University of Glasgow going into my final year. My final year project brief is to design anything that solves a problem!

My partner is a carer for someone with Parkinson’s, and from listening to the issues that arise during their daily life- I wondered if I could design something to help with the day to day living of people with ALS/motor neuron disease/Parkinson's etc.

I was hoping to gain some insights on what are the challenges that those affected face day to day that a product could help with. I have seen items such as cutlery for better grip, the kettle tipper etc. If there is a product that you currently use, but you feel it could be designed better, that is also really useful information.

But more wider than that if anyone is a carer to those affected, what are some issues that YOU personally face, rather than your loved one, that a product could be useful for, to help with being a carer.

My partner said the product he would like me to create is a more elegant cup that doesn't use a straw/doesn't look childish/ can help him blend in more at social occasions and is suitable for drinking alcoholic beverages. His Papa currently uses regular glass and simply sips the wine/ or other beverage from the top level. When he can't sip anymore as the liquid level is too low someone nearby him tops him up- so his independence suffers. I would love to know other perspectives on drinking as I believe there could be a more elegant solution out there.

Any feedback/ ideas would be very useful for me- even just a simple line!

Many thanks,
Anna

I want an adjustable power headrest for my power wheelchair. Something with about 4 inches of travel that can be run off the 24v power wheelchair and controlled via Bluetooth and have an inching mode so it can be moved in small steps. Something modular that could be added to most chairs