Diagnosis
11/2020
Country
US
State
WA
City
Blaine
Newbie here. My 89 yr old mother was diagnosed with Bulbar ALS about 3 weeks ago. We have no history of this disease in our family. Her symptoms made themselves known quite abruptly, and progressed from barely noticeable to significant in a very short time. She has difficulty talking and swallowing, and suffers from severe shortness of breath. Her neurologist gave her a "few months" to live. Mom has always made it clear to me that she never wanted to be hooked to machines if there was no chance of a meaningful recovery. She also has an advanced medical directive that says the same thing. I guess my question would be what sort of non-invasive measures are available to keep her comfortable when the end is near? I can't stand the thought of her going through prolonged suffering.

Very sorry to hear about your mom, Susie. Ask anything, any time.

BiPAP would help ease her shortness of breath. It is not being "hooked to machines" since a caregiver can take it off or put it on. Was this discussed?

The second question would be as regards a feeding tube placement to maintain her nutrition. Presuming that's not on the table, you will want to adjust her diet to thick liquids, ultimately -- blended food, smoothies and such. Including protein like nut butters, eggs, even ice cream if she tolerates dairy, is important.

Ultimately, most PALS resort to morphine in their last days to reduce the need for air. It promotes shallower breathing. By doing so, it also shortens life. Drugs such as benzodiazepines, codeine, and sedating antidepressants have some of the same effects and some PALS use them throughout. They can also be sedating, of course. You and your mom should discuss her preferences around comfort vs. cognition on an ongoing basis.