Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
CA
City
Irvine
This is my first time here and I hope you can help! Intro: I’m a part time caregiver for my dad who was diagnosed January 2008. He is 66 years old and completely paralyzed now but can still move his head from side to side. He can make sounds but I cannot understand him anymore, and our communication is entirely me guessing and him nodding or shaking his head to get just basic needs across. He has a feeding tube (about two months now) and does not eat or drink anything by mouth. He has just started using breathing assistance but I don’t know specifics of that yet as I was on vacation when that started last week. He is at home with no regular professional help; my stepmother is his full time caregiver. I don’t know how she does it! I go visit him twice a week; we give him a real shower once or twice a week. We’ve talked about hiring someone to help do showers more often and to just give my stepmother a break. The few people they’ve brought in have not wanted to do the showers the way we do; they basically think it’s not safe to try to stand him us and hold him up as we do, they’re afraid they’ll drop him, they’re worried about liability. And frankly he doesn’t want a stranger helping with showing, toileting, or even just “babysitting” him, which I completely understand. So that means that family and a few very close friends do all of these things. I go to dr.s appointments with them and help with general care when I’m at his house a.k.a. I am used to transferring him, taking him to the commode, feeding through the tube, etc.