Diagnosis
04/2014
Country
US
State
MA
City
Boston
It sounds like an uphill battle as the FDA is apparently being pressured into this but they do have some biomarker data. I expect fireworks during testimony. Hoping for good news for PALS. No date set yet

Nikki J, can you expand on your post? I'm rather new to all of this, so I don't feel I really understand the background with regard to NurOwn's therapy. It seems like there's a rather checked history that I have not been witness to, and am trying to understand.

From my viewpoint

• they met their Phase 3 endpoint
  • they have biomarker data to show the therapy has an impact on neuroinflammation, neurodegeneration, and neuroprotection
  • the floor effect prevented them from showing more efficacy

It's really confusing to me to see people seem generally negative about NurOwn, but very positive about Toferson (where primary endpoint wasn't met), for example.

What am I missing?

It is very complicated. The placebo group did better than expected is part of the issue

tofersen has a lot more ole data than brainstorm and the nfl data was compelling. I know Brainstorm has some biomarker data too but not sure how strong plus there is much more research on nfl in sod1 because of the carrier studies. Brainstorm did not have an option to go right into ole from the trial. They eventually held a limited ole but it was much delayed. Tofersen has a lot of ole data extending over time. The adcomm vote for tofersen was more based on nfl and ole data really not the initial trial results