Diagnosis
09/2015
Country
US
State
NY
City
Rochester
Hi there. I have been wandering around this site for quite a few months reading the different posts and just recently became a member. I am extremely sad to see the pain that so many individuals and families are going through in living with this disease.

I'm not sure why exactly I am posting...except that I need to feel like I am not alone. My husband was diagnosed 8 months ago. Up until that point we noticed different symptoms and he would put off going to a doctor brushing the symptoms off. However when the slurred speech became consistant, a visit to the GP was made. He was convinced that my husband was healthy. He did however refer him to a neurologist. I had been watching the symptoms of my husband for about a year and looking up possible causes of symptoms and I had a fear that ALS may be what we were facing.

When it came to the day of his visit with the neurologist I offered to go with him but he chose to go alone. He ended up there all day, went through a series of tests including the EMG and he was diagnosed that day.

Now here we are 8 months later, going to the clinic visits and he has only told some family members and some work supervisors. I have not been given permission to talk to anyone besides his approved core group which is mostly his family. I don't want to have just them to talk to because they don't need to be a part of the day in and day out of coping and I don't want to share some of those things.

I'm not comfortable sharing the details of maintaining a marriage and the things that annoyed us even before the diagnosis. Those are things that just didn't disappear that day. Now I just find myself feeling guilty for still losing patience over those things.