Learn about ALS
Country
UK
State
Leicestershire
City
Loughborough
Hi everyone :smile:

I am a student at Loughborough University in the UK studying Product Design and Technology.

I am currently working on a project to design a product to allow PEG users to self-administer their formula at home without assistance.

To help make the final product as good as possible, I would really appreciate your help answering some of my questions:

Do you find it difficult to self-administer your formula?

If so, what parts of the process do you find most difficult?

Any info at all will be greatly appreciated. Thanks :smile:

Hi Jake,
I could write an entire essay on this.
1) Unless a medicare patient in the USA uses commercial formula instead of homemade blended food they are given no supplies.
2) The syringes available through medical suppliers are labeled single use only and they indeed don't plunge very many times without failing.
3) Many tube fed adults use gravity feed, so the plunger is not that much of an issue, as they are pouring into a syringe
4) That syringe is a small diameter, it makes for a lot of spills
5) If they look for options, the largest oral syringe that they will find is 140ml. Still not that large
6) A man with a daughter with special needs came up with an adapter tip that works on a Playtex Ventaire bottle. That bottle holds 9 ounces, and will work for gravity feeds, but, again, only holds 9 ounces.
7) I eventually, out of frustration, came up with a DIY version of a gravity feed bottle that holds 24 ounces.

There is a huge oversight when it comes to truly addressing the needs of tube fed adults (and children for that matter!)
Don't assume tubefed adults use formula. Some do. The first ingredients in commercial formula are corn syrup, isolated soy or milk protein and canola oil, plus added vitamins and minerals.