Diagnosis
4/2009
Country
US
State
Illionis
City
Naperville
I am thoroughly confused (and so is everyone else) as to what my diagnosis is. Since march 2008 i've seen 15 doctors, which included 4 neurologists & 2 speech therapists. I've been mri'd, ct'd & ultrasouned from head to foot. I've had 4 emg, which were normal in my extremities. I just returned from mayo clinic in april, with a diagnosis of bulbar palsy, maybepre als or not. The main problem is my voice, mainly my tongue, in slurring of my speech, difficulty chewing & swallowing. I am an active nurse who is a team leader in a busy operating room. I've been a nurse for 35 years. Having received this "diagnosis", they gave me no suggestions about my daily routine, just return to work & wait. It has been very hard to communicate, especially over the phone. But i've been doing it for 1-1/2 years. My coworkers are very supportive. However, today my manager called me in his office & said he's had several complaints about my communication & he was going to work with me & human resources & put me on disability. Now, none of my doctors would come out & say that i can't do my job, so how can human resources tell me i have to be on disability? I am only 54 years old, other than my bulbar symptoms, i feel really good. I have lost weight, maybe 5-7 lbs. Physicaly i work 40 hours a week. Has anyone experienced bulbar palsy without having als? Does anyone know, is there any law that says you can't discriminate against people with a speech disorder (there are people in the dept who are difficult to understand because of accents).
I would appreciate if you could help me out here.:?: