Loved one DX
Country
US
State
CA
City
San Diego
Hi all,

This is my first time posting and I'm glad there's a supportive community here. I'm posting because my mother has Bulbar ALS with FTD. She was diagnosed approx 2 years ago and as of now, cannot eat (has a PEG) right hand almost useless, left hand getting there, extremely slurred speech (cannot understand her 90% of the time), is continually coughing, has a BIPAP, cough assist machine and suction machine. Most days she just sits on the couch.

The problem is that my father is her caregiver, and isn't doing too bad of a job, but she is now needing support with showering, grooming, getting changed, etc. Also, because of her FTD, she's not making the best decisions. For example, she didn't want to wait a few minutes for me or my father to change the dressing around her PEG, so she decided to try it herself and pulled at it, making it bleed. She has a shower chair but she doesn't want to use it. She does things that are bad for her and suck up her energy, like trying to hold the blowdryer with her left hand, barely able to. She says she doesn't want help and my father says she doesn't want help, but she really needs professional help to help her with all of the machines she's continually using and to help her with dressing and other basic daily needs. I'm currently and temporarily at home and can do a bit to help, but I'm working from home and will be moving out within a couple of months. It's extremely difficult for me to work and assist her when she needs assisting, which is all the time! I'm so frustrated and I've tried to interview some caregivers, but my the men in my family (father and brother) has been obstinate about getting her help, even screaming at me when I tried to set up those interviews.