Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
FL
City
Jacksonville
So, here's my story.

In the last couple of months, maybe a bit longer, I've had some strange symptoms. Some of them coincide with the start of a new medication in clinical trails for binge eating disorder, specifically a Norepinephrine-Dopamine Reuptake Inhibitor (NDRI). Some of them occurred beforehand. Part of me wants to write these things off as side effects of the drug, but a portion of the symptoms are paradoxical to what would be expected and potentially predate it. Oh yeah... and as full disclosure, I'm a doctor in residency training. This is a second career for me so I'm in my 40's. And I hate going to doctors. Ugh.

Between October and December, I had a couple of weird episodes where I broke out crying at work over the stupidest reasons. It was totally embarrassing, and at the time I chalked it up to stress. (Not likely hormones as I had total hysterectomy long time ago.)

Then January, I started this medicine. Initially, I had a super dry mouth. It's a known side effect of the drug. So, when the hypersalivation started about a month ago, it made no sense. I seem to notice this more in the evening, and especially when I am lying down to go to sleep. However, if I'm not preoccupied with something else, I will notice it during the day, too. As I'm sitting here writing this, I can feel the dang saliva. Super annoying.

Over this same period of time, I started having issues with swallowing. There was actually a day that I thought I might be having an allergic reaction because it felt like the back of my throat was swollen. I was seen in ED and they elected to rule out stroke because I was demonstrating slight weakness of the left leg. CT and MRI were both negative. I'd noticed issues with that leg, but I thought it was my ankle was giving way due to a sprain (break?) I didn't have evaluated a few years ago. Neuro wasn't sure what to make of this... but felt it was not an acute issue needing intervention.