Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
OH
City
Pataskala
I am new to the ALS forums after a month or 2 of progressing weakness(not measurable, but exhausted easily) and lack of balance mainly in my quads. My voice seems to be weakening, making it tough for me to teach HS. I have had tons of twitches all over in the past month and some cramping in my feet.
First neuro visit is next week, but I have been totally unable to get any sleep or function for about 8 days. Doc prescribed a sleep aid which seems to get me about 3 hours of very light sleep each night, I don't dream and don't seem to reach deep sleep. Without the meds, I seem to get close to sleep and get strange "hypnic jerks" which bring be back to awake
My question is, did this sleep issue happen to anyone early on during Dx and are there any positive stories of hope that I can get back to normal sleep?

Patsfan,

Welcome to the forum. I'm no doc but I've been through the diagnostic process. Your symptoms could be caused by any number of disorders/diseases and syndromes; some of which could be treatable or even curable.

I wonder if anxiety may have something to do with your trouble sleeping. Do you worry a lot about the possibility of having ALS? At this stage, you should just remove that fear from you mind. There are a lot of other "lesser" maladies that could be causing your problems. You could have Benign Fasciculation Syndrome, for instance. It's not a pleasant thing to have but it won't put you in a wheelchair!

Zaphoon

Never heard of sleep disorders as a sign of ALS onset. The "jerking leg" syndrome when falling asleep is common, and is treatable. Can't remember what they call it, but it's annoying ... I know people with it (none of them with ALS) and they have been treated successfully. You see meds for it advertised on TV.

None of us are doctors, but you're really picking the worst-case, least-likely scenario.

BethU and Zaphoon:

Thanks for the quick and helpful advice.