Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
AZ
City
Ft. Mohave
Good afternoon. I am new to this page. I have been through a series of tests this past year to identify my muscle weakness and weight loss. My gp was actually the one that told me I was twitching and needed to see a nuerologist. (At the beginning I didnt notice any twiches, and kinda dismissed his referal)

After I finally went to the nuerologist they told me I had a type of dystonia because of rigidness and how I was holding my neck to my shoulder (which again, i didnt notice) After a ANA panel and other blood test it came back positive for sjorgens and slightly elevated Achr binding serum. Further EMG testing shows muscle weakness, however noting it was not Myasthenia Gravis.

My rheumatologist acknowledges the sjorgens but says most my symptoms do not coincide with Sjorgens. He asked me to go back to my nuerologist to repeat my Emg to see what has changed in the last 6 months. I am trying to trust the process and be patient while I wait for the next appt. My question is... is it common to has slightly elevated Achr binding serum or sjorgens with ALS? Im hoping for someone to ease my mind while I wait. Thank you for your time.

Last edited by a moderator:
Good evening. Anyone able to clarify my question above? Is it common/uncommon to have sjorgens and/or slightly elevated achr binding serum with ALS? I appreciate any input.

No, those are rheumatology markers (though elevations do not necessarily mean disease) as you point out and do not relate to ALS, a motor neuron disease. You may want a second rheumatology opinion. If you could post the de-identified EMG report, we could be more helpful.

Best,
Laurie