Learn about ALS
Country
CA
State
BC
City
Vancouver
Hello All!

I am a mechanical engineering student at the University of British Columbia. I am working with 3 other engineering students and we want to create a device that will improve the quality of life for a person living with ALS. For those of you who wish to give us feedback we would appreciate it so much! Here are some questions that would help us generate some ideas, and feel free to give us any other feedback that you feel would be useful for us! There more information we can gather about your daily routines - the better!

1) What is the most difficult task that must be done everyday and how do you currently do it?
2) For those of you who have limited or no speech, how do you communicate with people and are you overall satisfied with the current technology?
3) If there was one thing that you wish you could do on your own what would that be?
4) Are you familiar with computers, and would you use a communication tools that required knowledge of computers?
5) Would you be comfortable using an automated device that could help you reposition yourself?
6) What is the easiest way to travel by wheelchair, do you operate an electric chair, or have someone push you
7) What are some features that you wish your chair could perform?
8) How do you eat or drink? If you can no longer chew, would you use a device that could help you chew?
9) Would you use an eye-gaze tracker if it was easy to use and user friendly?
10) Is there anything that your caretaker is responsible for that you wish you could do on your own?

These are just some of our questions, we will generate more questions depending on the answers!

Thanks so much! You are very inspiring/wonderful people and we look up to you very much :smile:

Welcome to the forum! Are you doing this in conjunction with ALS BC? I have been involved with Engineering students in the past and enjoyed it.