Diagnosis
04/2019
Country
US
State
FL
City
Fort Pierce
I have been reading about the benefits CBD oil has on symptoms. Confused about the different grades. Can someone that is using the oil let me know the benefits. Plus, is it OK to buy from a health food store or should it be purchased through a dispensary? I'm new to all this and there is so much to navigate through

CBD varies tremendously in concentration and quality. I think much of what you would find in a health food store would be a very low concentration for the price

It is legal to buy online and there are some suppliers people recommend.

I do not use it myself so I don’t know them. There is a FB group ( not ALS specific) with a lot of information. I can look for it if you want

Others here do use it and mmj too so you may get feedback. There are old threads if you search. We used to have a sticky on it but its author removed it

I started Charlotte's Web (you can buy it online and in some retail locations) about six months or so after my diagnosis. I'm absolutely certain it helped me sleep better and calmed my anxiety. I was able to get off Xanax (which I had been taking for 20 years).

My local neurologist started suggesting it to all his patients and then went on to become certified in medicinal cannabis. A good number of his patients are off opioids now that they are using medical cannabis. He specializes in pain management and now he is a huge supporter of both CBD and THC.

I had a conversation with an ALS neuro back before medical cannabis was legal in Florida. He told me he would do whatever it took to get cannabis if he had ALS. Both he and my local doctor believe it is neuroprotective.

I take at least 50 mg. of CBD at bedtime and some during the day if I think I need it. When I forget, I can't fall asleep.

There are about 10 other people in my condo using CBD.