Are all cruise ships required to have accessible rooms?

Status
Not open for further replies.

grandmommyk

Distinguished member
Reason
CALS
Diagnosis
07/1995
Country
US
State
TX
City
Spring
We went on a cruise in April. It was an older ship, but it was the only one available for the time we needed. I checked with them first to be sure they had a room that would work for us. I did all the paperwork and have an email stating that both the room and bathroom had a 60" turn radius.
Short story is that the whole bathroom was only about 3'x5'. If my son had not been on the ship too, I don't know what we would have done.

Hi K, I have been a kind of resident travel agent here on the forum in the past. (been an agent for about 20 years)... Oh so they did the typical bait and switch a roo on ya huh! Typical. The only thing the cruise lines will really stick to is if you ordered a handicap room. Then the size really matters and how it is configured. The cruse lines KNOW they cant mess up or fudge any numbers with those cabins. Gotta tell ya though, even those cabins can be uncomfortably small and not so easy to get around in. Now, if your son had been with you, and he couldnt get around and it was a really big inconvenience, then a letter to the cruise line would be in order. What you would probably get in return depending on how big the imposition would be a coupon for a discount on a future cruise. Using a travel agent with a lot of experience to book the cruise is a big help as well because they have sales reps they can write the letter to for you, and get you a better return. Also, a good travel agent KNOWS which ships are the good ones, and which are not. They are YOUR representative and have your best interests at heart. I had to step out of the business for about a year now to take care of my father who just passed last month, but if you ever think of going ANYWHERE again, and or taking your son with you dear heart....just message me and I would be happy to give you al