Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
AZ
City
glendale
Hello, I am new to all this. I am 39 years old pretty healthy and active. One of my best frriends aunts passed away a year ago at age 56 with ALS. I thought I had a great grandpa that passed away with it at age 81 but my mother confirmed with one of his kids, my great aunt, that it was a form of neuropathy. I have to say that I own a commercial cleaning company and use my hands a lot. For about a month I have had this weird sensation in my hands and wrists. Currently for the last several days my wrist has been extremely sore and more than likely ostearthritis developing. I had DeQuearvains tenosynovitis about 2 years ago. I kept working through it not knowing what it was and probably did damage to it.

Fast forward to today and I have noticed that on my Right hand in the hypothenar area on the bottom left of my palm a difference when it is rested and then when I extend my fingers and hand out. I saw my PCP and he sent me to a neurologist. He did an EMG of both arms. I have an appointment to get my results on May 8th. Basically they make me spend another copay and deductible to have to come back. Ugh. After he performed the EMG, I said to him, I know you cant give me the results until the 8th but you know my fear. He said I cant see one thing in it that shows ALS in any way. That I can tell you.

I didnt find this muscle thing until after the EMG. he didnt stick a needle in that particular muscle during the test. He did do the nerve conduction on all my nerves in the right arm. I am right hand dominant and do use my hands for work every single day. Commercial Cleaning is all hand labor. This past Sunday at softball I hit 2 homeruns and hit another last night. Im not trying to pride myself but i can say my strength still seems to be there.