09/2010
Country
US
State
Utah
City
Pleasant Grove
Good Morning Everyone

I have a simple question. I have ALS and my doctor ordered me a special power chair. We finally received it and MEDICARE paid for the chair.

When we asked MEDICARE about a ramp to get the chair out of our home and a lift to have it placed into the back of our Ford Excursion, we were informed that they did not cover those type of items.

They also said that the power chairs are meant to be used in the home and not taken out for ROAD TRIPS. We asked about Doctor Appointments, Church, and town events [4th of July].

Again, told that is what wheel chairs are meant for. Just a side note: this cost of this chair was over $25,000.00
The MEDICARE REP said that we would have to pay for these extra items if we wanted them.

Our local Church said that they would build a ramp for us but that only solves half the issue.

I am a Disabled Veteran and have not checked with them yet on any programs.

Has anyone had this type is problem with MEDICARE?

Thanks for your time

Ray

Medicare will not cover any changes to your home, handicap transportation, or ramps. We did it all on our own, but I would think there is a good chance that the VA would cover those things.

Definitely contact the VA--there are benefits available to you from them with ALS---if others miss your post-- put in VA and read some of the others. I believe there is a 10k allowance from the VA--but don't quote me on it--for transportation things. I saw a post a few days ago about it--so shouldn't be too far back if you search. It won't let me put in links--I think I do it wrong.

I understand that ALS can actually be considered a disease associated with military service or something similar. Also check with loaner closets in your ALSA area. They might have a portable scooter or something in the meantime for traveling.