Diagnosis
11/2007
Country
uk
State
uk
City
uk
no,not intake (too skinny for that)but what i eat.
slowley my swallowing is getting worse and some foods are getting just plain too procarious (sp) to eat.
tonight while eating my evening meal (lasagne,jacket potato and salad)the salad kept getting stuck and i had to keep hacking so i would not choke on it.

my list of moderated foods so far are......salad,spagetti,biscuits or stodgy stuff.
if it gets stuck at the top of the throat its a case of trying to dislodge it.........further down which thankfully is not ofton then its a full on choking fit.

i'm not a doctor but it feels to me like the muscles are not reacting quick enough to get food down.
i have had several years now were my chewing muscles have been effected.....yes,i could try to chew food up more but my jaw and lower facial muscles would give out half way through a meal.

i have been putting off going to see about it as it will mean more tests,just waiting till it gets to a more serious level.......for now its managable.
rose gave me a great tip of having some yogurt handy to help when food gets stuck so will give that a try.
dont want to alarm fellow pls'ers,alot here dont have bulbar involvement yet.........its taken about 5yrs from bulbar onset to get to this point.

so as i have said its now time to draw up a list of no no foods.

So sorry Olly, that you are having this problem. Please be careful while eating and never eat alone. Maybe Doc's can help you out, you should go now before there is an emergency. Be careful

I have had to give up salads and fetecini noodles. I can still do spagetti but I have to cut into very small pieces. Your list and mine are about the same so I dont have any that come to mind. The yogurt will help move things, thats good for pills too. I have had to drink water with diary products now as the diary gets gunky in the throat. Nutrician drinks help keep a healthly diet and add calories. I know my spelling is atroshous. lol