Learn about ALS
Country
AU
State
ACT
City
Canberra
Hi all,

I guess the title of my post pretty much explains how I've been feeling lately, wondering whether I have ALS or some other insidious problem.

About December of 2006, shortly after my 40th birthday, I started noticing some really strange things happening to my body. I have been hoping that it is due to one of 3 factors - 1) stress from work, 2) something related to a 4 day unexplained fever, or 3) something related to hitting my neck very hard on my bed head (exaplanation will follow).

1) I lead a very stressful life as the Property manager for my Government Department. I have been acting in this position since February 2006 and I feel like I am always on tenderhooks due to the amount of people always wanting something from me. I only have one other staffer working for me and I am usually always feeling stressed out at the end of the day. Nearing the end of last year I was having a lot of stress in my job. I have always had a fairly stressful life at work and can't drink caffinated coffee or any softdrink with caffeine in it as I usually get twitches in my face.

2) I had a couple of incidents of fever last year. The first one (and possibly the second one...I can't quite remember) was due to taking old medication (dizapam I think) for a whiplash injury that I suffered in 2000. Oh...that resulted in injuries to the facet joints btw. The second fever was over my birthday 22/11 to 25/11/06 but went away after taking panadol.