Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
NZ
State
canterbury
City
Christchurch
Hi I have just spent a sleepless night worrying about this.

I will admit to being a bit of a hypochondriac but I feel like I do have some symptoms of ALS.

Back in August I prolapsed a disk in my spine which compressed my left sciatic nerve, so I was limping for about two months until it got better so i have a lot of muscle wastage in my left buttock. and some on my left leg. I have been jogging and cycling for two months and the muscle hasn't returned. I also have foot drop of the left foot which hasn't improved much at all.

Two months ago I started to get excess mucus in my throat, went to the doc a month ago about it he put me on antibiotics but I still have this and it has turned into a cough and my voice has got husky.

I have had a weak feeling in my legs for around two months, and I get body jerks in my legs, hands, arms and sometimes whole body when I am lying in bed trying to go to sleep. I dont get this during the day.

My sciatic and lower back pain has come back over the last two weeks, not as bad as when i first did it, but i makes me walk stiffly.

I realise most of these symptoms are related to the prolapsed disk, apart from the throat thing, but I guess i'm just worried because they match alot of ALS symptoms and my muscle hasn't come back.

I'll go to the doc this week about my throat.

Cheers

Daniel

I should have said I am a 36 yo male.

also I am getting hot very easily and sweat when doing little exertion. Today when sitting at my desk I started to get a muscle twitch in my right bicep, been going for about two hours now.

I am on medication for anxiety.