Reason
Friend was DX
Country
US
State
Indiana
City
New Castle
My dearest friend has been diagnosed with ALS and I so want to be there for him and help him through the upcoming difficult days in his life but I already am hurting so badly, I can't sleep and I just can't make sense of any of this at all. My friend is a good person who has always helped out others. He didn't do anything to deserve this and I am just so overwhelmingly sad and I absolutely Just feel like dying. as it hurts that badly! :cry: I'm new to all of this. Does it ever get any easier?,

sandy

Yes it does, Sandee. Then it gets hard again and then you adjust and so forth. There is nothing wrong, BTW, with asking your doctor for somehting to help you cope. Look at it this way, you will be doing it for yourself as well as your friend. The better you are able to cope, the more help you will be to him. Cordially, Cindy

Sandy,
Just yesterday I spoke with a friend who lost her husband some time ago, and she was consoling me concerning my wife's ALS... and she said this, "you may never get over it... but time has a way of healing your pain...". I'm not sure I can fully appreciate that right now with my wife Vicki's disease, but looking back to some rather trying times when losing my mom and dad, and grandmother, I can say that my friend is wrong.
I pray each day for the strength to carry on, and have seen some rather startling results which are making this journey a bit more bearable. I'll keep you, and ALL others who caregive in my prayers... and Cindy gives some fine advice as well... Your doctor can help you cope...
Michael S

Thank You For The Kind And Very Helpful Words. I Will Do Everything I Can To Get Strong For Him! Thanks Again I Just Feel So Comfortable Here And Feel Like I Can Ask Anything About This Disease And Right Now I Just Need To Talk And Again This Has Been So Helpful!,

Thank You Again,

Sandee