PALS
Country
US
State
Florida
City
Fernandina Beach
Dear ALS friends,
Did anyone get a service dog for help with ALS symptoms.
If yes at what stage do you think best for me to get such a dog.
I walk with a walker and thus far have ability to use my arms and hands.
Thanks,
Degenhardt

A dog would be more burden than help. How do you scoop holding on to a walker?

AL.

I am curious, what help do you think a dog would be?

:) I too am curious.

we have thought about one for help too. My husband has very limited use of his hands so the dog could be taught to pick stuff up for him and possibly open doors but probably would be more of a companion and company than anything.

I've heard that a service dog can be helpful as a set of hands as Amber suggests but I've no direct knowledge of them. Might be worth checking on a paraplegic forum where there are probably many more posters. I know that my dog Chewie would pick something up if I dropped it (as long as it was a bone; wouldn't get it back though). Dogs are great for restoring to a PALS feelings of happiness and contentment.

I thought that a service dog may help me with
the stages when I lose my ability to use my hands.
Maybe I should wait until I do lose this ability.

If you want a service dog I would start looking right away. They usually need to be trained to perform specific behaviors and can do anything from bringing things, recognizing an emergency and calling 911, turning lights on or off, open doors both home and in stores, help with taking clothes off, etc, etc. They are trained a range of behaviors but if you need anything specific it takes some time for them to learn. You will need someone who will feed it and take it for walks/potty, groom it, etc. Don't wait because it does take time to get one.