05/2017
Country
US
State
CT
City
Fairfield
Hi everyone!

I’m new here, and joined because I have some questions about my mom’s progression. I am a college student in the uk, and am only back in the us during breaks. My mom has progressed very rapidly while I was at school, and I am wondering how much time we realistically have left.

She can move her toes and her head a little, though is rapidly losing the ability to keep her head up. Sometimes she can move an arm or a leg an inch or two but it takes a lot of effort. She is on something similar to a cpap machine every night. Her oxygen levels are in the mid-eighties during the day, but lung assessments in her power chair say she is below half lung function. She recently started taking a calorie supplement through her feeding tube, eats very little, and chokes on most of her meals. I know she needs more professional care than she is currently receiving, but my father refuses to pay for it, so I fear she may be getting worse from lack of adequate help. My mom has been voicing her fear over leaving my sister and I alone with our abusive father much more frequently, which makes me think she too is concerned about her time left.

I am worried we are nearing the end, and was wondering if anyone with a similar progression (we are just over two years in) could offer advice. Thanks in advance!

Hi Grace,

If your mom's O2 level is only in the mid-80s, she is not doing well. I wonder if she is on the right kind of machine (it should be a BiPAP) and how well it is adjusted for her. How recently has someone evaluated this?

If she chokes while eating, I cannot think why she would not be getting nutrition full-time using the tube instead? Choking puts her at risk for pneumonia or an obstruction, either of which can be fatal.