00/0000
Country
US
State
MI
City
Grand Rapids
Hello,

I am new here and this is my first time posting. I have had some ALS symptoms that I am very concerned about.

Starting about 3 months ago, I started feeling twitches and seeing twitches in my body. At first they were pretty random, but then they moved primarily to my left calf. In the past couple of weeks, those twitches have moved up into my hamstring and my buttocks, and I also have them occasionally in my chest, specifically when I laugh or talk. I also feel them in my feet and toes.

Starting a couple months ago, I think I started to notice myself slurring my speech. I'm a teacher, and my students haven't mentioned anything about it (I've asked), but I feel myself fumble over words and struggle pronouncing certain letters (especially consonants) quite frequently. Over the past couple of weeks, it has also felt harder and harder to speak, like the actual effort it takes to form words. My tongue is still strong, I can still curl it and make a clover and touch my nose with it.

In the past couple of weeks, I've slowly started having more problems with swallowing. I've also had significant back pain (between the shoulder blades) and chest pain that accompanies eating, but is also present at other times. I have struggled to sleep the past couple of nights, because every time I come close to falling asleep I get a feeling in my chest like I'm struggling to breathe.

I also feel shortness of breath throughout the day, especially when eating, talking, or exercising. I also have a feeling of weakness in my left hand, specifically with my thumb. I know weakness isn't a feeling, but it truly seems like my left hand is weaker than my left. I can see a very fine and small twitch in the connective tissue between my left thumb and index finger. I also have other twitch/tingle feelings in the left hand (mainly on the thumb side towards the palm). My thumb feels like it's on the verge of cramping almost constantly.