Diagnosis
00/2000
Country
OH
State
ohio
City
columbus
The hospice nurse said that if my sister decided to vent at this point she would probably still die because of cell oxygenation and how little oxygen she is moving through her body. She said her o2 stats may look good on a pulsoc but that is only measuring the blood content not how much oxygen is in the cells. He said that what could happen if she decides to change her mind again and go full code the emts will intubate but once she get to the hospital they may decide she has no quality of life left for a vent, or they may vent to see that she cannot sustain life anyway because of the low cell oxygenation. Anyone heard of anything like this?

I am not a doctor, so what I say may not be correct.

Okay, how do cells get oxygen to them? First, you need a sufficient amount of air in the lungs. Then then you need the lungs to sufficiently exchange the oxygen and carbon dioxide. Then you need the heart to sufficiently pump the blood to and from the cells in the body. And then you need the cells to exchange oxygen and carbon dioxide.

So, with ALS typically the only problem is the diaphram can't get the air in and out of the lungs. If that is the only problem, then a vent should solve that problem. But if there are other medical condition causing a disruption of the other processes, a vent may not help that.

My biggest recommendation is to call your ALS Association chapter to see if they can recommend a neurologist or better yet a pulmonologist that can aswer your questions without bias. Hospice people may not be your best source of information. Just like it is not the decision of the hospital to decide if your sister is worth having a vent... at least not today. That is why it is important she decide before an emergency where she can't communicate clearly.

I agree with everything Brian said. Your sister really should have her wishes stated clearly, preferably legalized. Yasmin.