John445

Forum Supporter
Reason
DX MND
Diagnosis
06/2022
Country
US
My recent diagnoses of ALS was with my family doctor who is part of a large hospital organization. The team is great and first ALS clinic was helpful in a variety of ways. I am also a Vietnam vet. After understanding the possible financial burden of this journey, the VA benefits with ALS is considerable. This last week was my first VA visit and I was impressed.

I am conflicted.....I want to access the care and benefits the VA offers but still keep my private doctor in the mix. I am wondering if anyone has had this situation and how you handled it?

Thanks, John

You can absolutely get the VA benefits and still also use a private physician. That is what we did. The VA benefits are incredible, so I recommend following up with your local PVA to get the paperwork done. You will get a monthly stipend, plus any equipment and medications for free, plus a caregiver stipend (possibly), etc.

Thanks Robin, what is PVA?

PVA is the Paralyzed Veterans of America, a veterans service organization. They specialize in services and assistance to veterans with spinal cord injuries or dysfunction, which includes ALS. They will assist you in filing all the paperwork for compensation including grants for automotive assistance, house modification and supplemental compensation as your symptoms progress.

You indicated that you visited the VA last week. Have you already received a ratings decision on your application for benefits? Can I ask which VA hospital you are connected to?

At this point we had our first visit with VA last week, just to get into the system. The next appt is the end of November. Now that I am understanding things better, I will have my private doctor fill out VA form stating my diagnosis. We visited Hines VA Hospital outside of Chicago.

John, I'm at somewhat of a loss here... As I and others have suggested for you
to work with the PVA. I got all kinds of this and that, wanted paper work with