Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Indiana
City
Westfield
Hello all. I am 45 years old and an RN. I have been doing home health for the past 5 years and have had multiple patients with MS, ALS and PLS.

About 1 year ago I notice some slight twitching in my left toes and foot as well as clumsiness in my hands. I wrote it off to stress, fatigue, getting older, etc. Over the next few months, the twitching and clumsiness got worse and I had a few falls but no injuries. Once again, I wrote it off to the items mentioned above.

In January I had a fall resulting in a trip to the ER and a concussion. Upon follow up with my GP, he saw the twitching in my left foot, which he termed myoclonus. He did some reflex checks on both feet and lower legs and said I had a Babinski reflex in my left foot but not in my right.

So he sent me to a neurologist that did brain and spine MRIs which all came back normal. He also did reflex testing on both feet and lower legs as well as strength testing of both arms and legs. He said I had a strong Babinski in my left foot but not my right and noticeable left sided arm and leg weakness.

He did an EMG on my lower left leg and foot and said the EMG was ok but I have upper motor neuron damage so he sent me to a different neuro group. The new neuro doc has done blood work and an EMG on my left arm and leg which all came back normal.

He said, "At this point you don't have MS or ALS but we still have a lot of testing to do." I've been referred for a neuropsychological evaluation in June and follow up with neurologist in July. I saw my GP 2 weeks ago and he did the usual reflex and strength tests. He said I now have a bilateral Babinski and noticeable weakness on both sides. He also noticed fassiculations in my right leg, arm, shoulder and back.