Reason
Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
NJ
Hi there, I'm an incoming college freshman and just turned 19 a few weeks back. I've been so scared in the past two months, worrying if I might have ALS or other motor neuron diseases. It all started in April (3-4 months ago) when I developed this hand tremor (mainly right hand, but there's also some slight tremors on my left hand). My right hand started to get really sore when I was hand-writing essays and papers and such (which normally doesn't happen in the past). I cut my daily dose of coffee and black tea and it got better as time goes by. (Don't know if it's related, but I did have some aspects of hypochondria in the past)

Early June, I traveled abroad to visit families and was placed into a 21-day quarantine in a hotel room. That's when I "perceived' a slight weakness in my right hand, and gradually, right limb. It didn't prevent me from performing any day-to-day functions, so I didn't pay much attention early on. After several days of isolation, I started having muscle twitches everywhere, about 5-20 times a day, in various locations, including feet, legs, torso, arms, palms, back, chest, cheek, etc. The muscle would twitch once, or in some cases, several times, and then stopped completely once I started moving and touching it. Meanwhile, my hand tremor started worsening (it gets better sometimes); sometimes it shakes so bad that I found it a bit difficult to button up dress shirts/click the right tab on my laptop. I had difficulties falling asleep for quite a long time. started frantically doing strength tests at home and in office (I'm doing an internship), screwing and unscrewing water bottle caps, unbottoning and buttoning my suit-jacket tirelessly, doing squats and jumping every five minutes, try lifting heavy weights with my right hand...