Diagnosis
05/2015
Country
CA
State
Ontario
City
Barrie
So having been a part of this board for about a year, it seems that if anyone is looking for any type of "cure" in the next year or 2, it will have to come in the form of almost an accidental discovery. For example, Perampanel or some other existing drug that has an unexpected response to ALS. Lunasin is another example....we know it has helped some.

The process for drug approval just takes too long, unless you're in a trial.

Is that about right?

I'm no expert but it would be interesting to see if there are parallels in how most cancers and AIDS were eventually brought under control. Was it the result of the drug approval process or a result of the medical establishment stumbling onto combination therapies?

I was just wondering earlier today if perhaps research and discoveries in other motor neuron diseases such as Parkinson's might lead to a "cure" or control of ALS.

Yes that would be interesting to know. If there was some type of drug that showed huge promise we would no about it here. Who knows - a pleasant surprise would be a miracle at this point

I read somewhere that very few pals take part in research trials and they wonder why...

I believe that having an exclusion for folks on NIV like trilogy (when it is one of the few things we have they have proven actually extends life,) makes it difficult.

So, we have to choose between trial and trilogy....?

Just saying...:-|:confused:

Also, we need a high profile individual that becomes a pals.
A beloved actor/ celebrity diagnosed would open the floodgates for funding like it did for HIV/ AIDS. AIDS is no longer a death sentence!

Although, I would not wish this curse on anyone.

Cheers,

Jocalyn