CALS
Country
US
State
NJ
City
Voorhees
Hi Guys!

This is my first time ever on a forum so I would definitely appreciate any kind of guidance! So what brings me here...I'm a 23 y/o caregiver to my 51 y/o mother. She's been a PALS for about 4 years now.

There are 6 of us in the family but my little sister and I are the main caregivers. Our dad helps when one of us aren't available. My 2 brothers don't really help because they are busy with their own jobs.

Anyway, I'm currently attempting to get a masters in pharmacology. What was supposed to be a 2 year program for me is now going to take much longer because I have no idea if and when I'll have time to do the research portion of the degree, especially because my sister is moving far for dental school in 2 weeks. My dad is proud of her but has been getting increasingly edgy and angry at her whenever she leaves the house to see friends, I think because he doesn't like the prospects of having to do more as a caregiver.

Anyway the point of me writing all this is because I need advice. I am afraid of what next year will bring. I might have to do 90% of the caregiving and struggle to keep up with studying. I'll rarely see my friends because they live far and I can't be away long since I'll be the only one capable of taking my mom to the bathroom.

I find it so hard to trust homecare nurses because they're the reason my mom had long stays at the hospital. The first time was because the nurse failed to put the bipap (one provided by her own nursing company) on correctly and my mom got so anxious she ended up having a heart attack. The second time the nurse and her nursing company (different from the first one) failed to flush one of my moms catheters and she ended up with MRSA.