Diagnosis
Not yet
Country
US
State
Ohio
City
Delaware
Hello, My name is Brian I am 37 years old and a father of four children. I am currently a police officer and life is good. However a month and a half ago I began getting what I thought was flu like symptoms (Aching just plain feeling like crap) After On the third day I began feeling a little better but on the fourth day I woke up having no strenght in my arms. There was no numbness or tingiling or twitching. I just couldn't pick my son up, or button my pants or open a pop can. I couldnt even grab a pen. The next day I went to the doctor and he put me off for two weeks and began testing for M/S. The MRi showed no leasons associated with M/S. Now they are leaning towards ALS. I have regained my strenght and have returned to work.

DO I have ALS? Are these symptoms.? Does the weekness associated with ALS come gradually or quick like mine.

Anyone know.

Thanks Brian

The weakness associated with ALS is due to muscle atrophy which occurs over time. Secondly, the weakness doesn't get better. Once the muscle is gone it's gone. I'm no doctor but based on what you've posted ALS would be the furthest from my mind.

I third this motion, you don't have ALS. It does not get any better. Sounds like Guillan Barre syndrome, it causes temporary weakness.

ALS does not get better buddy...your clear.

rgds,

Jamie

Hi,

I also vote NO ALS for what it is worth. But please let us keep us informed of what your Neurologists find out and what tests you get. Thanks and Best Wishes, Peg

weakness

hi,

if this comes back look at one of the tick transmitted disease like lyme. The gold tests for lyme are more like lead. Find a lyme expert--they look at many factors.

congrats on getting better,
kath

thanks