Diagnosis
06/2006
Country
US
State
Tx
City
Houston
I'm new to this,but I need some suggestions, prayer, help or something..I'm really on the brink of a melt down. Long story made short, Im an only child married mother to 7 kids, taking care of my mom who has ALS for the last 5yrs. Had private duty nursing, but I had so many bad experiences, one which almost cost my mom her life. I reside in Houston, TX so Im learning there are NO VENTCARE NURSING HOMES anywhere in this city. ( Which is beyond CRAZY to me!)

I tried a different company for nurses,but she has come so far in loosing her speech no one can understand what she is saying, And my mom is very particular in her needs that no one has the patience to say out here and work with her. So that leaves me taking care of her around the clock. My 2 oldest kids along with my husband and step dad(every now and then for him) are my only help. But they can't begin to do half of whats involved in her care, because she never allow anybody to help when she could talk and move about more. The majority of her family(my family) is half way on the other side of the planet. They do come when they can,but again its more emotional support than anything.

I hate to make this about me, because I know her struggles that she deals with. But I don't have time for anything! my husband, my kids, myself and what make it worse is she doesn't appreciate all I am doing for her to remain at home still. Its like I'll never do right by her in her eyes. Its sad that my mom is practically on her death bed, and all she wants to do is argue with me about nothing.

Oh God I am so lost, I pray and pray and I will continue, and try not to loose faith..But I'm SO TIRED!I just don't no how I can keep going..

Sophia...:confused::(

Sophia,