Slowly progressive symptoms for about 5 years, starting at age 17. Confirmed by nuero, but no diagnosis. Any thoughts/knowledge would be appreciated.

Status
Not open for further replies.

bl1234

Reason
Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
PA
City
Empo
hello, thank you for taking time to read this. I am currently in my second year of going through blood work, EMG, nerve conduction, ect. to find out what’s going on. I will list my symptoms year over year to illustrate the progression. I am only 22 years old and this issue began when I was 17. I know I don’t fall into the likely category for any nerve or muscular issues, but all I can say is my symptoms have been constant for 5 years day after day and my neurologist has confirmed these symptoms as real.

so, to begin (I’ll keep this as brief as possible) in December 2015 I began feeling fasciculations in my lower right leg, foot, and right arm, along with admittedly many other random twitches in my body. This was accompanied by mild atrophy of my left leg’s inner soleus muscle (from ankle to knee on inner leg, near shin) and the muscle behind my left knee, resulting in a hyperextension confirmed by nuero. as well as mild atrophy in my right lower arm and thumb. This was accompanied by mild stiffness In my right hand (phone occasionally slipping out of hands, hand feeling limp when hanging in air, ect) as well as mild weakness in left lower leg (walking felt different than usual, my gait slightly altered)

In February 2016, I got my first EMG, 3 months after first mild symptoms noticed. It came back clear, with a conduction block in right elbow (I only learned of this months ago when reviewing Past results) symptoms persisted.