Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Ar
City
Jonesboro
I’m a paramedic and this January. I started having symptoms very vague almost stroke like symptoms that took me to the emergency department on several occasions. Since that time I’ve gotten progressively worse.

I’ve had every blood test imaginable and probably MS was the diagnosis. During this time none of the symptoms have gotten better. Next neuro appointment is Thursday. Last appointment neuro seemed more concerned and emg tests showed what he called moderate to severe abnormalities. The more symptoms I’ve had since this time have brought me to assume the worst and fear it is als. I know that each can mimic each other.

After my initial onset of stroke like symptoms in my right arm and not being able to use it to even open an alcohol pad he did an emg that said there was moderate to severe abnormality with no response at all. He asked if I had any pain in that arm and I said no just weakness and can’t hold onto things can’t use it as normal. My left leg also had began to have seriously problems were walking was difficult and he said emg/and nerve conduction both showed abormality in that leg.

Two weeks ago I began to have extreme difficulty swallowing with continuous soft palate spasms. I’m not having increasing difficulty and swallowing to the point I cannot eat or drink and have become dehydrated. Nothing helps. I stagger with the left leg.

I’m currently on several medications including Valium and clonipin with no improvement. Even those close to me are having difficulty understanding my speech. It is to the point I can’t feel spasms all the way into my neck and has begun to affect my breathing more.

I’m going to attach a couple of videos of the soft palate spasm and the tongue and hope that I get reassurance that this is not als. Please give honest opinions. It is continuous and never stops.