Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
sc
City
rock hill
Have you ever heard of muscle atrophy being the first sign of als? And not just in one specific place. atrophy in the butt, knees, arms, and back all at once over the period of a month. A little weakness in the arms and shaky hands followed but nothing limiting.

It could be due to a number of reasons. I'd start with your GP and then a local neuro. If they don't have answers, try a neurologist associated with a large teaching hospital. The larger clinics usually see more of the hundred or so conditions that cause atrophy and weakness, thus they are often able to give answers sooner. Often but not always. :-D

But start local. It might be something common and treatable. JMO, and I am not a medical professional. Very few of us are around here. :-D

Hi,

just my 2 cents, That is what happen to me but over a few months. I know have weakness, it is not clinical. do you have twitches? Mine is like all over but most in hands and feet/ankle. I have had every test known to man....emg, biopsy,blood, mri of brain & spine,---all normal and no diagnosed yet.

good luck

yes twitches especially at night or when i am stressed. The atrophy is present over my entire body and just came on in the past month. In the hands, arms, knees, and the weakness has just begun.
Does this sound typical of ALS? From what i have read (or i think) doesnt it usually take a while for atrophy to set in and usually only in one limb at a time?

It certainly doesn't sound typical to me. One month is way fast and many places is not typical and most get weakness first. I'd see a doctor. We don't give a diagnosis here just offer guesses. Some are educated guesses ( wright, Zen ) others are uneducated guesses, ( me and the rest )

AL.

Could you give us more details:

How did you notice the atrophy?
How much atrophy do you have?
Could you describe your weakness?
Are you still progressing?