Diagnosis
08/2015
Country
US
State
South
City
The Beach
I've been exploring adjunct therapies for the pain I experience. I get a lot of joint pain from tendonitis and torn rotator cuffs. So far PT has only made it worse.

I came across one PT who uses pulsed electromagnetic field therapy in conjunction with her hands-on approach to PT. She has treated other neuro conditions but not ALS.

The two most popular units are Bemer and iMRS. If you buy one for home use they are multi-level marketing products which sends up a red flag.

I've done a lot of research on the technology but was wondering if any of you have had experience with PEMF. From what I gather the main therapeutic outcome is increased circulation.

It's so tempting to just pop another Oxy and forget about it but when I'm no longer moving around, I can see issues with opioids (constipation, for one)

Any of you PALS or CALS heard of it?

I have no experience with or knowledge of PEMF. Here are some other modalities you or your PT may consider for soft tissue pain:
Ultrasound with decadron
Cold laser therapy
Acupuncture
Massage
Compounded NSAIDs mixed with gabapentin (applied topically)
Topical cbd cream
Gabapenin orally
Orthopedic eval to see if cortisone injections are an option

You have a disease that effects the nerves. The idea of putting a pulsed electricity through the nerves sounds like trouble to me. I have enough problems with nerves.
Vincent

Here are the things I currently do: massage, Neurontin (Gaba), THC hybrid topical cream, prescription cream (containing Duloxetine, Ketoprofen, Lidocaine, Cyclobenzapring, Dimethyl Sulfoxide, and Tramadol). The THC hybrid topical seems to work much better than the prescription cream. I've also used lidocaine patches and cold laser therapy (from a PT.)

Vincent, none of these therapies involve electricity. I did have a TENS unit which I gave away years ago because it was useless for neck pain I was experiencing.