Diagnosis
10/2010
Country
US
State
CO
City
Colorado
I was fitted today for a PWC. Is it recommended to get the power lift? I seem to remember someone saying that they didn't order it but wished they had. The cost ($1,500) will come out of our pocket since medicare won't cover it. Any advice? Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
If you can afford it do it. Unfortunately we were not given the option and I really wish we had it.

Yes, get it! I replied to you tea party thread. :)

Absolutely! It will make transfers easier, it will extend your reach, it will save your CALS back.
I wish I had been given the option.

Pie's bank balance down $1,500 :( but she knows its money well spent :D Got to love this site.

Thanks Lori, CJ, Deb and Kiwi! I was going to cancel the order but now I feel it's a good feature for us to have. I am a crazy driver though and will have to practice a lot! ;) Probably should get a crash helmet too!

you'll be Power woman Pie yeahhhhhhhh good 4 you! You go for it!

Okay, I now have a mind movie of you and Di racing each other and your husbands are out of the way with their knees pulled up to their chins....8)))))

Yes lift option is great. I use it when the people around me are standing so I don't have to look up. I used it at a baseball game to see over the people in front me. Doug likes it when I elevate when he helps with my tube feedings. W He doesn't have to bend over. I was blessed to get my pwc from a friend of a friend. The ALS association picked it up in southern Vermont. They had checked it over and put a new battery in it. Then they delivered it here with no bill. A PT from clinic made sure it fitted for me at the ALS walk last fall.

Lol Jen! My husband will be jealous of my new vehicle and will most likely try to make modifications to it. Think chopped and extended front end and nitroglycerin injectors!

sounds like he's Tim the Toolman!