PALS
Country
UK
State
London
City
London
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting and am looking for any advice relating to pregnancy with a ALS diagnosis.

I started getting my symptoms 2 years ago when I was 24. It started in my left hand and eventually the constant twitching started in my arm. I have had numerous MRI's, blood work, lumbur puncture and Emg's. My results of the first EMG showed degeneration in my left arm but everywhere else was normal.

On my latest EMG they picked up that it has now Spread to my tounge. Due to this they diagnosed me with ALS which was last month. They have said I've got a slow form as its only just started spreading and my first symptoms were nearly 2 years ago.

I have two beautiful children who are 2 and 6 and to be honest I'm absolutely heart broken. The thought of leaving my children motherless is causing me a lot of guilt and stress. I'm in denial at the moment I just can't believe it as yet.

On top of that I have just found out that I'm pregnant. It was a massive shock but I was prepared to do it as I feel everything happens for a reason and this must be a blessing. Well yesterday I met with my neurologist to discuss risks of going ahead with the pregnancy and they have all said it could be life threatening and even myself and the baby may not make it. The highest risk is that my breathing could become affected due to the pressure and weight of the baby.

I understand they have to give worst case scenario but it's all "what if", "this COULD happen" and I completely understand ALS is the unknown as everyone's progression is different.

I'm just so confused at the moment. Obviously I don't want to risk my life as I need to be here for the children I already have , but at the same time they said my breathing may not be effected as I have a slow form. My breathing isn't affected yet, just my arms and twitching in my tounge but who knows that might be a different story in 7 months if I continue with this.