Diagnosis
06/2018
Country
US
State
OR
City
Portland
Hello to all: I am a newbie and was diagnosed after a year of symptoms in June of 2018 at OHSU here in Portland. (I had previously gone to Mayo in Rochester and was badly misdiagnosed...a story for another time perhaps.) I have been reading through the forums and am truly blown away by the compassion and support contained in these threads and feel so fortunate to have found this incredible resource. I have a very supportive family--husband of 28 years and kids aged 20 and 18. I currently use a rollator to get around and use a manual wheelchair for longer distances. My neurologist doesn't have me checking in with the ALS clinic until September but did want me to go to the respiratory lab ASAP. I went yesterday but have no idea how to interpret the results. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Attachments

• IMG_7653.jpg
    IMG_7653.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 811
Hello fellow Oregonian. Sorry to have to welcome you here. You’ve found a great site for support and help.

Your respiratory numbers look great except for a reduction in mid expiratory pressure (MEP). Given that your other numbers are so good, if you’re not having noticeable difficulty exhaling, I’m not sure this is a problem for now. Others here may chime in.....

Has your doctor reviewed the numbers with you?

What decreases in muscle function have you noticed with your ALS so far?

All your numbers are excellent except MEP. That number measures the strength of your breathing muscles as you breathe out. That's the part of the test where you bear down hard and force air out against pressure. Patient effort is a big factor in both MIP and MEP. I'm wondering if they did it multiple times as your other numbers are all very good. Did they do an arterial blood gas to see what your C02 looks like as that might be impacted by a low MEP?