03/2011
Country
US
State
MO
City
California
Good morning,

I am new to the ALS Forum. We are in the KC area and are being treated at the KU Med Center - ALS Clinic. We are initiating hospice care this afternoon. Here is a little about our story:

My Mom was diagnosed with ALS in March 2011. Her FVC was 77%. Her next appointment was in June and FVC was down to a 67%. October her FVC was 46% and 4 days ago she was down to 34%. Her prognosis and time is grim.

She has been taking the Rilutek and many vitamin supplements since March along with small doses of adavan (sp?) and lexapro. We started morphine for air hunger this week. She had a feeding tube placed in June and is now using it for 5 feedings a day and barely maintaining 115 pounds. (A healthy weight for her is around 145).

Mom gets around in her power chair however can only stand to transfer to bed, chair, and bathroom. Her diaphragm is the most affected but she also has symptoms in her hands, feet, arms, legs, neck, speech, and bulbar region(throat/mouth). She has been on bi-pap since March and is up to 15-18 hours per day.

We are meeting with North Care Hospice today and welcome their assistance and expertise as they have an ALS program and care team.

I look forward to using the ALS forum as a resource and a place to share our story. My Mom is amazing and used to be Super Woman! This disease has robbed her and her new husband as well as her children and grandchildren of time.

I'm so sorry you have cause to be here. You're doing everything you can to make your Mom comfortable. I admire your strength very much. Sending warm thoughts your way. Stay close.

Welcome to the forum, lovedbygoldens. I am so sorry for your mom's diagnosis. This is an unfortunate and a miserable place for anyone to have to be, but you will find help with your questions and shoulders to cry on. Hang in there!

So sorry you needed to be here but you'll find a great deal of loving support.