Not open for further replies.

Kellyb40

Country
US
State
Tx
City
Houston
Hello all, just a quick intro. I have recently become sole caregiver to my Mom who was diagnosed this past January (about 2 years into it). Feeling overwhelmed after only 3 months, but happy to see that there is a supportive community. I have briefly read some posts and learned so much I didn't know

Hi Kellyb40, sorry that you had to be here, but welcome to our forum family... there is so much to be learned from each other here, it is truly my lifeline. Feel free to ask questions, post concerns, rant, laugh, rave, you name it, we're here on this journey of ours. Good luck, and remember to reach out to others in your "real" life as well, don't try to do it yourself.
Helen

I'm pretty new to the form myself but there are lots of helpful and caring people here to support you and answer your questions. I have found good advice and comfort on this forum.

Hi Kelly,

Welcome--feel free to ask questions, we will all support you.

Thanks y'all. Hopefully this won't be my first and last thread. I have been sitting in a hospital with her for the last 2 days watching her deteriorate before my eyes because I admitted her through the ER for pneumonia. As soon as I said ALS the staff gave up and have barely treated her. She has been given antibiotic and very little saline to rehydrate.

She has so many medical issues with her heart. After 2 previous heart attacks, she has only one artery working at 20%. this is what should have killed her. Yet she fought on, only to be diagnosed with ALS.