Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
11/2022
Country
US
State
NY
I break out in a rash (allergic dermatitis) on my thighs if I wear anything containing less than 95% cotton. I have not had any dribbling or floods in bed, so far, but it makes me nervous. I tried putting a bath towel under my sheet but it slides down and bunches up in the wrong place.

I'm not very good at internet shopping. I agonize and it's so time consuming.

When our children were small, we had some waterproof pads, all cotton, if I remember right, rather thick and didn't bunch up. They worked great for pee accidents, leaky breasts, and spit-up. I could lie on top of one and it didn't slide around. I can't remember where we bought them. They came in a couple different sizes.

Any suggestions for what to buy or look for?

Possibly cotton towels and a bluey underneath?

There are mattress pads on Amazon with a terry (cotton) top. I would want that full coverage without bunching as much as towels could.

If you prefer a cotton quilted pad instead of terry, they have that, too.

Type 100% cotton terry mattress pad or 100% quilted cotton mattress pad into the Amazon search box. Then on the left select your bed size, whether you need waterproof, whether you need machine washability (yes!) etc.

Look for deep pockets if you have a thick mattress or an overlay on top. Many pads will specify how tall the mattress including any overlays can be.

One of the thing I do to protect the actual mattress is buy a dust mite cover that is waterproof. I"m not worried about the mattress pad since it can be washed. My bedding is all organic but the mattress pad is very thick. I have a large capacity washer and dryer that just holds it by itself. I also have a waterproof dust mite cover over my 3 inch topper. I bought my mattress pad online. It was outrageously expensive because it's all organic. I don't remember where I bought it but it has lasted well over 6 years.