Learn about ALS
Country
CA
State
BC
City
Vancouver
Hello all,

First I apologize if this is the wrong place to post, as my questions arent really about direct research, I dont know where to post.

Before I post my question, I think a bit of a background to why I post this, is needed. I am a biomedical engineer student at a university working on developing a low cost eye tracking system with a few other students. As you all know, the cost of commercial products are really expensive and even with support are still too much. So the goal is to have one cheaper that can be mass manufactured, so even individuals that cannot obtain support can still have one. As well, to create an improved communication interface so people can have meaningful conversations without being left out or by the time they finished, the topic has moved on. Thus, I would love to have some feedback or suggestions if anyone got some ideas that I left out below or was not clear about.

Anyhow, if anyone who uses eye tracking can help provide me some feedback of commercial eye tracking systems, such as the ones by Tobii, Smartnav, DynaVox, or any others ; I would really appreciate the help. Basically I would like feedback on the usage of such systems, i.e. the feel and what is good and what is bad with the particular system. Specifically I would like some more in depth information about the following:

1. do you prefer blinking to act as a click to activate a function, or dwelling(resting your eye at a spot and after the specific time it will count as a click)