Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol Deboer

Distinguished member
Dear friends,

when our pastor asked me if i wanted to say a few words about henry and say thank you to some special people, i thought that i would never find the words in my heavy heart to convey what i wanted to say. with pen in hand, i sat, and the words just poured out of my heart. this is what i wrote, and this is what the pastor read for me at henrys service.

where does one begin to explain our lives over the past 7years? it is impossible to explain how much henry suffered, but yet still managed to maintain his sense of humour, dignity, strength and perserverence. he was always focused on maintaininf a positive outlook and became self educated in learning about a diesease that eventually became all of our lives. he fought a hard and tough battle. he was steadfast, he never waivered. he did many things over the years to help fight the als and i thin in many ways and in many self taught methods, prologed his life to the best of his ablility. of course, his will and stubborness not to give in was always evident. henry and his dad made many trips all over ontario, either for acupunture or many of his alternative treatments. he always followed through with any treatment that worked. when he found that the benefites of one treatment stopped, he actively searched out again for a new one. he succeeded in so many ways. of course it was extremely painful for us to watch this strong healthy man become so weak and dependent on us. he never was a burden not did we as a family allow him to feel that way, ever. we were a strong family unit, and love held our bond. we of course had bad moments and we were allowed. we had all been robbed of so many things. i, of course, was losing the love of my life and the children were losing their dad. henry's strength and determination gave way to a whole new meaning of life. we learned so much from him. and i think he learned so much from us. he saw how strong we c