Reason
Loved one DX
Diagnosis
11/2016
Country
US
State
NM
Hi everyone, I'm new here. My mom was diagnosed with ALS in late 2016 and the age of 50. I graduated high school several months later and then moved out of state for college as I had scholarships which covered everything. I admit i didn't take her diagnosis well and for a few years I did anything to avoid coming home for visits. I would only visit a few times a year. Due to the pandemic i didn't visit at all in 2020. I graduated college early in December 2020 and started the process of looking for a job in the field of engineering. Things haven't been going well on that front and i moved back home in February and have been working from home in customer service while looking for engineering jobs. It's been tough as it been years since I haven't lived with my parents. My mom is wheelchair bound and her speech is starting to slur. Little by little, I'm learning how to assist my dad with her care as he is her primary caregiver and receives help from a close family friend. There are times I feel guilty for not visiting as much in the past. My mom does plan to go on a ventilator when the time comes because she wants to stay alive as long as possible. Any advice on how to cope and bond better with my parents/

I am sorry about your mother. She is my age and you are both young. That sucks.

From a pALS perspective, I think the first step is letting go of the past and forgiving yourself for going away to college. I'm sure that your parents wanted this for you and they will want you to find a fulfilling job. And you were thoughtful in not going home during COVID-- too much risk. So let it go.