Reason
Friend was DX
Country
uk
State
somewhere
City
somewhere
Could anyone here share his/her story about MMN progression? My boyfriend (35 yrs) had been diagnosed MMN and in IVGV treatment for about 7 years. Currently the treatment is going well and seems stopping progression. but I am still so worried about his deterioration in the longer future(saying 10 or 20 years later). Will he get disabled or need a wheelchair?

thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: help

That's a difficult question to answer kxbsn. As with most mnd's everyone seems to progress at different rates. Just as a guess and I'm no doctor I would think him lucky if he's not in a wheelchair in 20 years. On the up side though, they might have a cure by then. I tell people to live for today.

AL.

My son was also diagnosed at around 38 yrs old. He has been getting IVIG for about two years. It helps. He is a different person after his treatment- back to normal. His left hand is mainly affected. I am as frustrated as you are. I am looking for answers as well. Maybe there will be more people out there that can share their stories. Hopefully they will find more answers. I am hoping this is the worst of it but who knows. Hope to hear from you again. The support really helps.

Thanks for the attention from qinni and AL. Yes, i know it's difficult to answer. But i wish people or partner or relatives who experienced it could share the story so that we can get more information. You know MMN is really too rare to know. All we can rely on is the sharing among us.

kxbsn,

MMN is very rare and the fact that it is 7 years and the treatments are working is great, be thankful for that... I don't think there are alot of people on here that have been diagnosed with MMN that long and alot of them are in the stage of seeing if the treatments work that is one of the ways to know if it really is MMN and not and MND.